Congratulations to the 28 Australian junior chess players who have been selected in the Johns-Putra Junior Elite Training Squad (JETS) for 2018. We had a massive number of applications so to be selected into the squad is a great achievement.

These players are joined by two representatives from New Zealand to participate in a five-day training camp being held in Melbourne in early July. Participants will get to participate in intensive group coaching from five top Grandmaster and International Master coaches as well as attend an ethics lecture. They will then get to play in a two-day training tournament followed by a simultaneous exhibition with one of the coaches.

The list of names are:

Sophia Boyce
Jacob Joseph Chan
Amanda Cheng
Aaron Do
Brent Kristoffer Geronimo
Lachlan Ho
Ethan Hooi
Kathleen Hooi
Toby Huey
Nicholas Ilic
Chathula Kiripitige
Oliver Li
Emily Lin
Byron Morris
Sze Yong Ng
Dhwani Patel
Athena-Malar Retnaraja
Ethan Retnaraja
Haran Salasan
Gavyn Sanusi-Goh
Jonas Sze-To
Ryder Testolin
Sulia Van Sebille
Sophie Watkins
Chao Xing Cheng
Winston Zhao Chen
Marco Le Lun Zheng
Shawn Zillman

Nicole Qin (NZ)

Ryan Winter(NZ)


Ruofan Xu
Elena Jule
William Rumley
Chloe Fan